Thursday, August 14, 2014

2014 Emmy Nominated Costume Design on Display Through Sept. 20th

2014 Emmy Nominated Costume Design on Display Through Sept. 20th
Photos & story by Karen Ostlund
Nominated Costume designers Eduardo Castro, ABC "Once Upon a Time" and Jamie Bryant, AMC "Mad Men"
8th Annual Outstanding Art of Television Costume Design Exhibition
On view through September 20, 2014
10am-5pm at:

FIDM Museum & Galleries
919 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, California, 90015
left, Andrew Prince, jewelry designer for Downton Abbey & curator Mary Rose
 The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will take place at the Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE on Saturday, August 16th. FXM will broadcast an edited version of the awards on Sunday, August 24 at 8pm ET/PT and 10pm ET/PT. They will additionally be streamed in their entirely as part of the Backstage LIVE show on Primetime at 12:00pm PT / 3:00pm ET on Monday, August 25 prior to the Backstage LIVE and Emmy preshows.
The 66th Primetime Emmys, August 25 will be hosted by Seth Meyers.
For the eighth year, the annual exhibition celebrates the art and artistry of Primetime Emmy® Nominated Costume Designers and Costume Supervisors. The costumes included in this exhibition represent the creativity and style, skill and talent and imagination of television costume designers. 
The exhibit Include costumes from a variety of television genres, the exhibition is organized by guest curator Mary Rose, costume designer and member of the Board of Governors of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Costume Design & Supervision Peer Group.
Featured television shows include Portlandia, Orange is the New Black, American Horror Story: Coven, Parenthood, Downton Abbey, Salem, and many more.
Orange is the new black, NETFLIX
Orange Is The New Black costumes by Costume Designer Jennifer Rogien. (L to R) Catherine Curtin as Wanda Bell, Taylor Schilling as Piper Chapman, Taryn Manning as Tiffany " Pennsatucky" Doggett, Laura Prepon as Alex Vause, Kate Mulgrew as Galina "Red" Reznikov and Pablo Schreiber as George "Pornstache" Mendez. 

Bonnie and Clyde, Lifetime
 Bonnie and Clyde costumes by Costume Designer Marilyn Vance. (L to R) Costumes worn by actors: Holliday Grainger as Bonnie Parker, Emile Hirsch as Clyde Barrow, Holliday Grainger as Bonnie Parker, Holliday Grainger as Bonnie Parker and William Hurt as Frank Hamer.
Downton Abbey, PBS
 Downton Abbey costumes by Costume Designer Caroline McCall, nominated for the 2013-2014 Emmy Award for Outstanding Costume Design. (L to R) Costumes worn by actors: Elizabeth Cora Crawley, Countess of Grantham, Shirley MacLaine as Martha Levinson, Maggie Violet Crawley, Dowager Countess of Graham and Hugh Bonneville as Robert Crawley, Earl of Grantham. 

True Detective, HBO
 True Detective costumes by Costume Designer Jenny Eagan. (L to R) Costumes worn by actors: Woody Harrelson as Detective Marty Hart and Matthew McConaughey as Detective Rust Cohle.
Salem, WGN
 Salem costumes by Costume Designer Joseph A. Porro. (L to R) Costumes worn by actors: Janet Montgomery as Mary Sibley, Shane West as John Alden, Janet Montgomery as Mary Sibley, Janet Montgomery as Mary Sibley, Michael Googans as The Ghoul, Janet Montgomery as Mary Sibley. 
 2014 Creative Arts Emmy Costume Design Nominees are:
Outstanding Costume Design for a Series
Boardwalk Empire – John Dunn, Lisa Padovani and Joseph La Corte
Downton Abbey - Caroline McCall, Heather Leat, Poli Kyriacou
Game of Thrones - Michele Clapton, Sheena Wichary, Alexander Fordham, Nina Ayres
Mad Men - Janie Bryant, Tiffany White Stanton, Stacy Horn
Once Upon a Time - Eduardo Castro, Monique McRae.
American Horror Story:Coven, FX

2014 Outstanding Costume Design for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special
American Horror Story: Coven - Lou Eyrich, Elizabeth Macey, Ken Van Duyne
House of Versace - Claire Nadon, Nicole Magny
Sherlock: His Last Vow - Sarah Arthur, Ceri Walford
The Normal Heart - Daniel Orlandi, Gail A. Fitzgibbons, Hartsell Taylor, Maria Tortu
The White Queen - Nic Ede, Raissa Hans, Elizabeth Healy.

The Television Academy (ATAS) along with producer Spike Jones, Jr. announced the  presenters for the 2014 Creative Arts Emmy Awards.  It was additionally announced that Bob Bain will serve as a consultant on this year's awards. In addition to producing numerous music and red carpet specials, Bain has served as the longtime producer for the Teen Choice Awards, Kids Choice Awards and Critics Choice Awards.
Costume designer Ana Crabtree (Masters of Sex) w actor Steven Moyer fr Sound of Music Live

Costume designer Christine Bean from The Blacklist,NBC
2014 Creative Arts Emmy Award presenters:
Patrick Adams (Suits), Uzo Aduba (Orange is the New Black), Fred Armisen (Portlandia), Carrie Brownstein (Portlandia), Laverne Cox (Orange is the New Black), Morgan Freeman (Through the Wormhole), Vince Gilligan (Breaking Bad), Tony Goldwyn (Scandal), Judy Greer (Archer), Jonathan Groff (The Normal Heart), Tim Gunn (Project Runway), Tony Hale (Veep), Allison Janney (Mom, Masters of Sex), Keegan Michael Key (Key and Peele), Heidi Klum (Project Runway), Nick Kroll (Kroll Show), Jane Lynch (Hollywood Game Night, Glee), Natasha Lyonne (Orange is the New Black), Joe Manganiello (True Blood), Joel McHale (The Soup, Community), Kumail Nanjiani (Silicon Valley), Jordan Peele (Key And Peele), Carrie Preston (2013 Creative Arts Emmy winner and star of True Blood), Sarah Rafferty (Suits), Jim Rash (Inside The Writers Room, Community), Paul Scheer (The League), Amy Schumer (Inside Amy Schumer), Adam Shankman (So You Think You Can Dance?), Aisha Tyler (Archer), Matt Walsh (Veep), Matt Weiner (Mad Men), Zach Woods (Silicon Valley) and Bellamy Young (Scandal).
More info at

1 comment:

  1. the actor pictured with ane crabtree is teddy sears, who plays the character dr. austin langham on "masters of sex".