Monday, August 17, 2015

67th Annual Emmy Nominated Costumes on Display through September 26th 2015

Emmy Statue
Photos & story by Karen Ostlund
For the ninth year, this annual exhibition celebrates the art and artistry of Primetime Emmy® Nominated Costume Designers and Costume Supervisors, including costumes from BessieBetter Call SaulMarvel’s Agent CarterOnce Upon a Time, Peter Pan Live!Reign, and 2015 Emmy nominees for Outstanding Costumes GothamThe Mindy Project,Olive Kitteridge, and Wolf Hall
The exhibition is organized by guest curator Mary Rose, costume designer and past member of the Board of Governors of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Costume Design & Supervision Peer Group.
Like all of FIDM exhibitions, it is free to the public. Tuesday-Saturday, 10am-5pm, through September 26, 2015. 919 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, 90015

The Creative Arts Emmys Awards winners will be announced at the Microsoft Theatre (former Nokia Theatre) L.A. LIVE on Saturday, September 12. FXX will broadcast a two-hour version of the awards show on Saturday, September 19th at 8pm ET/PT, encoring at 10pm ET/PT. 

Bob Bain (Billboard Music AwardsMiss America PageantAmerican Country Awards) has been announced as the executive producer for the 2015 Creative Arts Emmy Awards.  Among the categories recognized and awarded at the Creative Arts Emmys are those for excellence in television's guest actors and actresses, choreography, costume design, music, and for the first time this year, Outstanding Variety Sketch Series.

The 67th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will be held on Sunday, September 20th, 2015 at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los AngelesCalifornia, and will be broadcast in the U.S. by Fox TV. The awards will honor the best in U.S. prime time television programming from June 1, 2014 until May 31, 2015, as chosen by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.
Actor Andy Samberg will host the show for the first time.

 100 costumes from 24 shows on display.
Emmy Costumes Designers Nominees 2015: (Left)
Lisa Padovan, Gala Autumn, Marie Schley, Ivy Heather Thaide,
Salvador Perez, Lou Eyrich and Jenny Eagan
This year, the Television Academy has instituted new rules for the Outstanding Costume Design nominees. In the past, separate awards were given in two categories, series and miniseries/movie. 
This year, two statuettes will be awarded, but they will honor contemporary costumes and period/fantasy costumes, regardless of the format of the show. 
The new rules make it easier for the Academy to recognize contemporary costumes, which were often shut out by period pieces in both of the old categories. Thus, The Mindy Project will compete against Gotham but not Wolf Hall, set in the sixteenth century.
Emmy®-nominated costumes the Fox series Gotham
by Lisa Padovani
Emmy nominated costumes by Jenny
Eagan. Olive Kitteridge, HBO
Emmy®-nominated costumes for the BBC/PBS miniseries  Wolf Hall by Joanna Eatwell

Emmy®-nominated costumes for the Fox series The Mindy Project by Costume Designers Guild President Salvador Perez 

Whitney by Lifetime, Costume designer FIDM Alumna
Mona May.Yaya DaCosta plays Whitney Houston

No comments:

Post a Comment